Looking through the bent back tulips…

“Archaeology is the search for fact… not truth. If it’s truth you’re looking for, Dr. Tyree’s philosophy class is right down the hall.” (Indiana Jones, from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade”)

After years of saying that I wasn’t going to start blog, here I am. Or rather here it is.  And like the esteemed Dr Jones, I can tell you that if you’re looking for the truth, you’re digging in the wrong place…

I can’t promise that this blog will be profound, innovative or offer startling insights on pedagogy and the like – if you want those there are PLENTY of better blogs to visit.   All I can do is hope that some of my experiences and thoughts will resonate with other folk.  A lot has changed for me in the last 12 months or so and 16 years into a teaching career that I had thought might be coming to an end,  I am now feeling more inspired and more passionate than ever about what I do.  I am learning all the time and  I humbly hope to share my learning journey with you in this blog.

The reasons for my epiphany are many and varied but in simple terms I’ve lucky enough to work in a school with some amazing leaders who had not given up on me, even I’d given up on myself!  Finding out there was a world outside my classroom full of inspiring people has been eye-opening.  I’m working with new colleagues in new ways, not just in my own school, but via force-of-nature that is Twitter and the blogosphere. I’ve just taken part in a teach-meet and am thrilled to have been asked to help plan another one.  I’ve also taken my first, tiny baby steps, towards becoming a senior leader – I will be blogging about my experiences of this through – taking part in the National College ASLDP course – over the coming months.

So apologies for any rambling, prevaricating, bumbling and any crimes against grammar that you might encounter on these pages. Thank you getting this far (assuming you’re still here) and please comment if you’d like to.  Hopefully you’ll be back. It’ll be better, honest.  I’ll have the kettle on at least.

One thought on “Looking through the bent back tulips…

Leave a Reply

